There are a few ways that a PRO account will downgrade to a free account.

Your PRO subscription will end if:

  1. You cancel the subscription from your billing settings.
  2. Payment for automatic subscription renewal fails three times. If you get a payment failure notice, you can update your payment information in your billing settings.
  3. You leave or are removed from a PRO Team.
  4. The temporary promotion you are on ends.

If you cancel your subscription, you’ll continue to have access to PRO features until your paid subscription period ends. For example, if you cancel 15 days before your subscription is set to renew, your account will stay PRO for those 15 days, then downgrade to a free account.

When your PRO subscription ends:

  • You won’t be able to use the Privacy feature to create new private Pens or Collections.
  • Password-protected Pens will lose their password protection.
  • You won’t be able to make private saves on existing content. After downgrading, if you edit something that was private, it will become public.
  • Any deployed Pens will go offline.
  • You will not be able to invite collaborators to your Pens. Any existing collaborators will lose edit access to the Pen.
  • You won’t be able to upload new Assets or make changes to existing assets. Your uploaded assets will no longer resolve.
  • Editable embeds created from your Pens will no longer be editable.
  • Your custom embed themes will be unavailable. Any Pens using those themes will revert to the default theme.
  • You will not be able to use Live Preview to view your code updates on unlimited devices in real time.
  • You can resubscribe anytime, but the new subscription will use the current rate table when you start your new subscription. You’ll see the current rate at checkout.
  • You lose that nifty little PRO badge next to your name.
Was this article helpful?
YesNo